Mal – ‘Sports’

Mal releases their second single of 2022, a heartfelt new track, ‘Sports’

Mal - 'Sports'
Mal image via Jacob Boll

Mal releases a vulnerable, lo-fi track from their upcoming EP, Continuous Short Feature Film.

Mal, the indie-folk project from L.A. musician Mallory Hauser, has released a new single and accompanying video for ‘Sports.’ The track is a vulnerable, lo-fi undertaking produced by Mal themselves and mixed by Zach Hanson (Bon Iver, Hand Habits, Sylvan Esso). The song is the second track released from their upcoming second EP, Continuous Short Feature Film due out on August 19.

Regarding the new single ‘Sports,’ Mal had this to say:

“‘Sports’ came during a time when I was struggling to find a way out of a stagnant and desaturated cloud – feeling depleted and constantly losing any bearings on which way was up or down. It aims to capture the moments when every monotonous day feels like living in a sort of grey, opaque snow globe with no way to get out. I found it similar to the slumps that happen when you play sports. Even when you’re exhausted and in a lull, it’s still a mental game that you have to repeatedly try to pull yourself out of.”

Mal’s new single ‘Sports’ is out now. Be sure to keep an eye out for their new EP Continuous Short Feature Film out on August 19. Coming off UK/EU tour in support of the illuminati hotties they are due to support Skullcrusher on 7th July at Moroccan Lounge in Los Angles.

Continuous Short Feature Film EP track listing:
1. Paper Crane
2. Intro To Sports
3. Sports
4. Fallen Friend
5. No Words
6. Oven
7. Final Instrumental
8. Everybody’s Talkin’ (Cover)

Artist Links:


Stay up to date with The Daily Music Report’s latest music news & releases. Check out the most exciting and important music news here.

To continue supporting our work and enjoy an ad-free experience on this site, kindly visit our Buy Me A Coffee page. Every little bit helps.