DAISY WORLD – ‘break it off’

DAISY WORLD announces debut solo album TOOTHPICK and drops new single ‘break it off’

break it off
DAISY WORLD image via Willa Baigelman

With influences spanning from Carole King to Tyler, The Creator, LA-based artist Daisy Hamel-Buffa, known as DAISY WORLD, embarks on a new chapter by unveiling her highly anticipated debut solo album TOOTHPICK.

The announcement coincides with the release of her new single, ‘break it off,’ accompanied by a visually stunning video crafted in collaboration with director of photography Seannie Bryan. Bryan’s previous works include collaborations with esteemed artists such as Weyes Blood, Skullcrusher, and Blondshell.

In a candid moment, Daisy shared the inspiration behind ‘break it off,’ revealing:

“I wrote this one morning after my second and final date with a guy who wasn’t looking for the same kind of relationship as me. In the past, I would have just gone along with it but as I’ve gotten older I’ve learned that to get what I REALLY want…I need to say “no! goodbye!” to the things I DON’T want…so I walked away even though he was a really good kisser…”

TOOTHPICK, self-produced alongside Albert Jairo Gordon and Matt Emonson, signifies a pivotal moment for Daisy. Reflecting on the album, Daisy expressed:

TOOTHPICK taught me how to believe in myself, in my vision & in all the sounds that I hear in my head. TOOTHPICK allowed me to explore myself and my musicality in a way I never have before. I see myself in this music… I FEEL myself in this music… and I have never been more proud of anything in my life. TOOTHPICK is a coming-of-age journey that I stumbled into. It’s about finally having the courage and confidence to make big & spooky changes in my life, jumping off the cliff, and trusting that I would land (semi) gracefully. I’m saying “hello baby!” to the future. TOOTHPICK is about removing alla that gunk stuck in between your teeth and showing the world your bright and beautiful smile.”

DAISY WORLD’s TOOTHPICK is slated to arrive on February 2, 2024. ‘break it off’ is out now.

TOOTHPICK‘ Track List:

1. come over
2. ur soggy
3. the big cool
4. down bad
5. break it off
6. joshua’s neck
7. so it goes
8. pho & cry
9. sleep
10. blindfold
11. i miss u

Connect with DAISY WORLD:


Stay up to date with The Daily Music Report’s latest music news & releases. Check out the most exciting and important music news here.

Wait! Before you leave, we’d like to share something important with you. Our site is an independent, small platform that is committed to providing valuable content without any pesky ads. However, to keep the site running smoothly and continue delivering quality content, we rely on the generous support of users like you.

By contributing a small donation, you can help us maintain our ad-free environment and ensure that our site remains a reliable resource for everyone. Your support matters and makes a significant difference in our ability to thrive and grow.

Thank you for being a part of our community, and we truly value your support!

To make a donation, please click here: Buy us a beer!

To continue supporting our work and enjoy an ad-free experience on this site, kindly visit our Buy Me A Coffee page. Every little bit helps.