MarMar – ‘Feel Okay’

MarMar discusses each track from his latest EP, Feel Okay

Feel Okay
Album cover for Feel Okay by MarMar courtesy of the artist

Over the last few months American/French producer MarMar has given us a collection of new singles with Call On You, Try (feat. LUUNG), Heart, Imposter (feat. Becca Kreuger), and Without, which all came with promise of an ep headed our way soon. That ep is finally here. Entitled Feel Okay, MarMar is excited to finally be sharing that with us this week, alongside its previously unheard title – track, ‘Feel Okay.’

Follow along as MarMar discusses each track from his EP, Feel Okay.

1. ‘Try’

I had a moment to write one morning while spending some time away by the North Sea last August. I had family in town from the US and was up before everyone else, so I decided to go sit outside with my computer. I was looking out over the ocean and ended up writing the chords and melody there by typing them into my software.

The rest of the idea took shape around that idea and then ended up making its way over to Bailey aka LUUNG over in Australia, where he wrote and recorded the vocals.

I had a lot of fun chopping up his vocal and using unique effects and reverbs while still giving space for his natural voice to shine through. He’s super talented and we had a ton of fun working on the track.

2. ‘Heart’

I wrote the instrumental for ‘Heart’ originally as a much more piano centered track. It was a pretty emotional concept and I was really leaning into the expression of the chords and melody.

When I asked John aka Easy Morning to work on vocals with me, we created a story of lost love and being so happy to see someone again that you never fully got to be honest with.

‘Heart’ is a story about meeting up with someone from your past and finally being able to pour out your emotion to them, but being hesitant about whether that’s the right thing to do or not.

3. ‘Imposter’

What a special track. I had a conversation with Becca on the first day of our writing camp in Canada with Seeking Blue where we both expressed how wild it was to be surrounded by such talent. We both felt heavy imposter syndrome being there, and were having this great conversation about that feeling and how it was affecting us that moment.

That ended up becoming the base for ‘Imposter,’ and Robert Gillies joined us to help create the story for the track.

We wrote a lot about how the feeling of being an imposter also affects our friendships and daily life. It was great to be able to express something as vulnerable as that with this track.

4. ‘Without’

‘Without’ is the first track with my vocals that I’ve released in a while. It’s actually a bit of a letter about my beliefs in this current moment. I was kinda battling with all of that this past year and how I felt towards God and my faith. It’s tough for me to struggle so much and still trust that there is something bigger than me going on.

I tend to lose a lot of faith in my worst moments, and this was just an open letter about that.

5. ‘Feel Okay’

Tough track for me to even talk about actually, but ‘Feel Okay’ is about my battle with OCD and the constant struggle in my mind. It’s truly been a hellscape going through diagnosis and treatment and I needed a way to externalize that. This is such a special and difficult track for me. It was tough to sing about this, tough to mix, tough to master. Just a total struggle to create and also maybe one of my favorite things I’ve ever made. I wanted to just be honest about how things are in my mind sometimes. How I’m always seeking peace. I spend a lot of time wondering what it would be like to completely feel okay.

When you’re done here lose yourself in our full library of features.

Wait! Before you leave, we’d like to share something important with you. Our site is an independent, small platform that is committed to providing valuable content without any pesky ads. However, to keep the site running smoothly and continue delivering quality content, we rely on the generous support of users like you.

By contributing a small donation, you can help us maintain our ad-free environment and ensure that our site remains a reliable resource for everyone. Your support matters and makes a significant difference in our ability to thrive and grow.

Thank you for being a part of our community, and we truly value your support!

To make a donation, please click here: Buy us a beer!

To continue supporting our work and enjoy an ad-free experience on this site, kindly visit our Buy Me A Coffee page. Every little bit helps.