10 Albums to Look Forward to in May 2023

From our favorite artists who have been delivering killer albums for years to the rising musicians just starting to break through, these are the ten albums to look forward to in May 2023.


Atmosphere image via Dan Monick

Atmosphere: So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously
Release Date: May 5

Atmosphere’s tenth studio album, So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously, promises to be a sprawling, ambitious work that explores the many different realities existing within our world. The album is a departure from their previous work, with a more experimental and electronic production underpinning Slug’s distinctive vocals.

billy woods (Alexander Richter), Kenny Segal (Kenny Segal)

billy woods (Alexander Richter), Kenny Segal (Kenny Segal)

Billy Woods and Kenny Segal: Maps
Release Date: May 5

Billy Woods and Kenny Segal’s new album, Maps, is a journey through the mind of a rapper at the top of his game. Woods’ lyrics are dense and thought-provoking, exploring a wide range of topics from race and class to love and loss. Segal’s production promises to be equally as impressive, providing a dark and ethereal backdrop for Woods’ words. Together, the album has the potential to be a classic of underground hip-hop.

Ed Sheeran

Ed Sheeran image via Dan Martensen

Ed Sheeran: Subtract
Release Date: May 5

Ed Sheeran’s new album, Subtract, promises to be a departure from his previous work. The album is a more stripped-down affair, with Sheeran’s vocals taking center stage. With a focus on acoustic ballads, the album sprinkles in a few uptempo tracks mixed in for good measure. Produced by Aaron Dessner of The National, Subtract will be released on Asylum and Atlantic Records.

The Lemon Twigs

The Lemon Twigs image via Stephanie Pia

The Lemon Twigs: Everything Harmony
Release Date: May 5

The Lemon Twigs’ fourth studio album, Everything Harmony, is set for release on May 5, 2023, via Captured Tracks. Produced by Brian and Michael D’Addario, with additional production by Jonathan Wilson, the album features 13 tracks, including the singles ‘Any Time of Day,’ ‘In My Head,’ ‘Corner of My Eye,’ and ‘What Happens to a Heart.’

Sad Boys Club

Sad Boys Club image via Nicholas O’Donnell

Sad Boys Club: Lullabies From The Lightning Tree
Release Date: May 5

London-based alternative rock band Sad Boys Club will be releasing their debut album, Lullabies From The Lightning Tree on May 5, 2023, via Modern Sky. Produced by bassist Pedro Caetano, the album features 10 tracks, including previously released singles ‘To Heal Without a Scar (Is a Waste of a Good Wound),’ ‘Delicious,’ and ‘The Cracking Song.’

Alison Goldfrapp

Alison Goldfrapp image via Mat Maitland

Alison Goldfrapp: The Love Invention
Release Date: May 12

Alison Goldfrapp’s debut solo album, The Love Invention, is set to be released on May 12, 2023, through Skint. Produced by Goldfrapp and Ben Christophers, the album features 11 tracks, including the singles ‘So Hard So Hot,’ ‘Love Invention,’ ‘Digging Deeper,’ and ‘NeverStop.’ The album has been praised for its disco and house influences, as well as Goldfrapp’s vocals. It has been compared to the work of artists such as Donna Summer, Giorgio Moroder, and Daft Punk.

Daft Punk

Daft Punk image via David Black / Daft Life Ltd.

Daft Punk: Random Access Memories (10th Anniversary Edition)
Release Date: May 12

On May 12, 2023, an expanded edition of Daft Punk’s 2013 album Random Access Memories will be released to commemorate its 10th anniversary. This special edition contains 35 minutes of previously unreleased music in the form of demos and studio outtakes. Additionally, the triple vinyl release includes a unique Lose Yourself To Dance poster and a 16-page booklet. Fans of the iconic electronic music duo can look forward to discovering new material and enjoying a visually stunning physical copy of the album.

Dave Matthews

Dave Matthews Band image via Getty Images

Dave Matthews Band: Walk Around the Moon
Release Date: May 19

Dave Matthews Band’s tenth studio album, produced by Rob Cavallo, is set to be released on May 19, 2023. The album includes four singles: ‘The Ocean and the Butterfly,’ ‘Walk Around the Moon,’ ‘The Only Thing,’ and ‘Breaking Free.’ Fans can anticipate hearing new tracks from the American rock band and experiencing Cavallo’s production style.

Arlo Parks

Arlo Parks image not cited on original

Arlo Parks: My Soft Machine
Release Date: May 26

Arlo Parks’ second studio album, My Soft Machine is a collection of 12 songs that explore the themes of love, loss, and self-discovery. Preceded by three singles: ‘Impurities,’ ‘Blades,’ and ‘Weightless,’ the album features a lush and atmospheric production with elements of jazz, soul, and R&B. Parks’ vocals are soft and soulful while her lyrics are introspective and honest.

Pere Ubu

Pere Ubu image credit not cited on original

Pere Ubu: Trouble on Big Beat Street
Release Date: May 26

Pere Ubu’s Trouble on Big Beat Street is their 19th studio album, set to be released May 26, 2023. The album is expected to be a departure from their previous work, with a more experimental and avant-garde sound. Recorded at the band’s own studio in Cleveland, Ohio, the album was produced by David Thomas and Keith Moliné.

When you’re done here lose yourself in our full library of features.

To continue supporting our work and enjoy an ad-free experience on this site, kindly visit our Buy Me A Coffee page. Every little bit helps.