Track By Track: Agnes Hartwick talks about each track from her debut album, Space Age Country Girl

Album cover for Space Age Country Girl by Agnes Hartwick courtesy of the artist

Agnes Hartwich made a striking entrance onto the music scene in 2022 with her debut EP, Into the Deep Dark Blue, featuring singles like ‘Deep Dark Blue’ and ‘Black Shiny Car.’ Now 22, the talented songwriter has unveiled her first full-length album, Space Age Country Girl. Consisting of 10 deeply personal tracks, the songs were crafted over the past two years.

Come along for a ride as Agnes Hartwich tells us about each track from her album, Space Age Country Girl.

1. ‘Space Age Country Girl’

This song is about obsessing over a girl, unsure if you want to be her or be with her. She’s a fantasy and a mood you can indulge in, an attitude you can wear when you need it.

2. ‘Coven Girls’

I’ve been in many toxic friendships over the years, and I’ve always struggled in girl – groups. This song is about how hard friendships can be, how much I struggle with trust and how paranoid I can be in social situations. I was bullied as a kid, and I think it really shaped me as a person. Unfortunately, I’m now very quick to cut people out of my life. But oh well, makes for a great tune!

3. ‘What’s in it, Babe?’

Yes, this song is about drugs. I wanted the production to feel like a bad trip. The way the synth is swallowing you in the chorus, dragging you into a dark mysterious place. The guitar solo is aggressive, uncomfortable and dark. Ending the track in an uplifting divine outro. Take this one as a warning. Don’t do drugs kids!

4. ‘Fuckboy Ballad’

This song was so difficult to find the right production for, I think I have over 15 versions in my dropbox. It’s a slow ballad, but we didn’t want it to feel like a slow ballad… not an easy task. This song highlights some of my toxic trades, my fear of emotional intimacy and commitment, my fear of losing control and opening up. All of these fears can sometimes result in ugly and selfish fuckboy behavior.

5. ‘Cold on this Island’

Loneliness is a feeling that is constantly present in me and has been since I was very young. I often feel isolated and alone, like nobody really knows me. The superficiality of my relationships makes me feel more alone in this world than anything else. I wrote this song on my guitar alone in my apartment, we tried to capture that feeling from my original memo on this track.

6. ‘Damn Wauw’

slay slay slay. This song is about feeling yourself to the max. This was the first song I ever heard a crowd sing along to. I feel so hot and confident every time I play this song, and I hope you will feel the same!

7. ‘Cult Leader’

I wrote the lyrics while riding my bike through Copenhagen. I had so much fun with this one. Laughing to myself as I made up the next line. I brought the lyrics to a session with a new producer, who I had never worked with before. I told him how I wanted a stupid simple bass riff and a beat you can jump to. 3 hours later we had the entire track down. The producer was Nichlas Kure, who ended up producing most of the record.

8. ‘It is what it is’

This is the first song to make me cry in the studio. It’s a song about giving up essentially. Giving up on things getting better. Accepting your circumstance. “Hopelessly I’m hoping to get better, but damn, I am what I am and it is what it is.” The most devastating feeling. Losing all hope and motivation, accepting all that pain, fear and loneliness as part of you. I never wanna feel that way again. Things can get better!

9. ‘Suburbia’

I still feel like a teenager most of the time, even though I’m in my 20’s. I started writing songs in my teenage bedroom, in the Danish suburbs. With this song I wanted to travel back to that place and reflect on how far I’ve come and how lucky I am to have escaped that sh*thole haha.

10. ‘it’s only getting worse’

I’ve struggled with depression my whole life, but for the first time last year I experienced major anxiety. I would wake up every single day, paralyzed by fear, unable to write music, unable to do anything really.

I was really struggling to finish the album. My one final to do was to write a sexy sassy pop banger. Impossible in the state I was in. I gave up. Instead, I decided to write down exactly how I was feeling at the time. No big metaphors, no cool concept.

This turned out to be exactly what I needed to gain back my love for songwriting, the motivation and bravery I so desperately needed to finish this album. This song helped me in so many ways, and is my favorite on this record!

When you’re done here lose yourself in our full library of features.

Wait! Before you leave, we’d like to share something important with you. Our site is an independent, small platform that is committed to providing valuable content without any pesky ads. However, to keep the site running smoothly and continue delivering quality content, we rely on the generous support of users like you.

By contributing a small donation, you can help us maintain our ad-free environment and ensure that our site remains a reliable resource for everyone. Your support matters and makes a significant difference in our ability to thrive and grow.

Thank you for being a part of our community, and we truly value your support!

To make a donation, please click here: Buy us a beer!

To continue supporting our work and enjoy an ad-free experience on this site, kindly visit our Buy Me A Coffee page. Every little bit helps.